Florida Minimum Wage Increase
On January 1, 2015, the Florida minimum wage was increased by 12 cents an hour, which brings Florida’s minimum wage to $8.05. Florida’s minimum wage is now 80 cents above the $7.25 federal minimum wage. The Fair Labor Standards Act contains a provision that if a state has set a higher minimum wage than the federal minimum wage, then the higher wage applies.
Tipped employees in Florida also benefit from the12 cent increase. The current tip credit wage for Florida employees is $5.03 per hour. In order to be considered a tipped employee, you must customarily and regularly receive at least $30 per month in tips. Click here for more information about tipped employees.
Many employers, for whatever reason, fail to pay their employees the proper minimum wage. Contact the Law Office of Robert S. Norell, P.A. if you believe you are not receiving a proper minimum wage.